11 days

From £3,395

Activity Level:

Summary

The largest island in the Mediterranean, Sicily arguably has the richest history of any region in Italy. The classically beautiful heart of the Mediterranean has been praised by poets and became the prize of countless cultures - Phoenicians, Greeks & Romans and later the Normans. During the Greek and later the Norman periods, Sicily was the creative centre of philosophy, art and learning. On this sun-soaked island, we find wonderfully preserved Greek temples, Roman villas and Norman cathedrals (many filled with stunning mosaics).

This trip showcases the wonderful monuments from all the cultures which found their homes on Sicily. We explore the Normano-Arabic churches of Palermo, alongside some of the best preserved Greek temples in the world – and the most important late antique villa in Italy.

Tour highlights:

  • See truly exceptional mosaics at the Villa Romana, Piazza Armerina
  • Visit Arab-Norman churches with their blend of Byzantine and Arabic art
  • See the cathedral at Monreale which is covered in opulent mosaics
  • Discover the Valley of the Temples in Agrigento, a UNESCO World Heritage Site
  • Have a special access evening visit to the Cappella Palatina
Meet your Experts

Doru Bogdan

Guide Lecturer

A researcher and lecturer at the University of Alba Iulia in Romania, Doru Bogdan is a specialist in Roman archaeology and has also supervised an array of fascinating excavations.

View full bio

Marina Bazzani

Tour Manager

Marina Bazzani is Italian and comes originally from Genoa, although has lived in the UK for many years.

View full bio

Segesta, Sicily
Tour dates & prices

Included in your cost:

  • Expert Guide Lecturer
  • Professional Tour Manager
  • Local travel aboard a private air-conditioned coach
  • Accommodation
  • Meals as per the itinerary, wine and tea or coffee with dinner
  • Entries to all sites as per the itinerary
  • All taxes & gratuities
  • Field notes
Tour Departure Tour ID Departure date Return Date Guided by Price Deposit Single Supp. Offer Availability
10 September 2020 ASIC200910 10 September 2020 (Thursday) 20 September 2020 (Sunday) Oliver Gilkes Michela O'Brien £3,445
(inc. flights)
£1
£500
£490 Call for availability
17 September 2020 ASIC200917 17 September 2020 (Thursday) 27 September 2020 (Sunday) Dr Gillian Shepherd Alex Casey £3,445
(inc. flights)
£1
£500
£490 Call for availability
1 October 2020 ASIC201001 1 October 2020 (Thursday) 11 October 2020 (Sunday) Doru Bogdan Marina Bazzani £3,395
(inc. flights)
£1
£500
£490 Call for availability
8 October 2020 ASIC201008 8 October 2020 (Thursday) 18 October 2020 (Sunday) Dr Jamie Sewell Johanna Flippent £3,395
(inc. flights)
£1
£500
£490 Call for availability
22 April 2021 ASIC210422 22 April 2021 (Thursday) 1 May 2021 (Saturday) Oliver Gilkes £3,195
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£470 £2,995
save £200
Book Now
13 May 2021 ASIC210513 13 May 2021 (Thursday) 22 May 2021 (Saturday) Doru Bogdan £3,275
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£470 £3,075
save £200
Book Now
2 September 2021 ASIC210902 2 September 2021 (Thursday) 11 September 2021 (Saturday) Tony O’Connor £3,445
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£470 £3,295
save £150
Book Now
9 September 2021 ASIC210909 9 September 2021 (Thursday) 18 September 2021 (Saturday) Doru Bogdan £3,375
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£470 £3,225
save £150
Book Now
30 September 2021 ASIC210930 30 September 2021 (Thursday) 9 October 2021 (Saturday) Dr Jamie Sewell £3,375
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£470 £3,225
save £150
Book Now
21 October 2021 ASIC211021 21 October 2021 (Thursday) 30 October 2021 (Saturday) Oliver Gilkes £3,245
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£470 £3,095
save £150
Book Now
Tour Enquiries

I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the Andante Travels Privacy Policy

Newsletter