8 days

From £2,545

Activity Level:

Summary

The Minoans are best known for their incredible labyrinthine palaces - the greatest of which, located at Knossos, was supposedly where Theseus slew the Minotaur. Our journey across these two beautiful islands will demonstrate the impressive architectural and artistic skills of this Bronze Age civilisation.

We begin on the stunning island of Santorini, buried suddenly during the cataclysmic eruption of Thera, which signalled the beginning of the end of Minoan civilisation. In Crete, we continue to trace the story of the Minoans, whose writing, organisation and ambition had a profound influence on the development of ancient Greece - and, thus, the western world.

Tour highlights:

  • Experience the rich history and archaeological sites of Crete and Santorini in the company of our experts
  • Explore the city of Akrotiri – the “Pompeii of the Aegean” – and the fascinating frescoes on display in the museum
  • Take a boat trip to the island of Spinalonga, a former leper colony, to explore the abandoned buildings
  • Visit the Archaeological Museum in Heraklion and view its fascinating collections
  • Tick the mighty Palace of Knossos off your bucket list
Meet your Experts

Dr Christina Hatzimichael-Whitley

Guide Lecturer

Dr Christina Hatzimichael-Whitley is a tutor in Greek archaeology at the Cardiff Centre for Lifelong Learning (LEARN). She specialises in Minoan Crete and is the co-directed of the Praisos Survey and Excavation Project.

View full bio

Tour dates & prices

Included in your cost:

  • Expert Guide Lecturer
  • Professional Tour Manager
  • Local travel aboard a private air-conditioned coach
  • Meals as per the itinerary, wine and tea or coffee with dinner
  • Accommodation
  • Entries to all sites as per the itinerary
  • All taxes & gratuities
  • Field notes
Tour Departure Tour ID Departure date Return Date Guided by Price Deposit Single Supp. Offer Availability
21 April 2020 ACRE200421 21 April 2020 (Tuesday) 28 April 2020 (Tuesday) Dr Sandy MacGillivray £2,495
(inc. flights)
£500 £235

Postponed

Call for availability
12 May 2020 ACRE200512 12 May 2020 (Tuesday) 19 May 2020 (Tuesday) Dr Christina Hatzimichael-Whitley £2,545
(inc. flights)
£500 £235 Book Now
1 September 2020 ACRE200901 1 September 2020 (Tuesday) 8 September 2020 (Tuesday) Dr Rita Roussos £2,545
(inc. flights)
£500 £235 Book Now
8 September 2020 ACRE200908 8 September 2020 (Tuesday) 15 September 2020 (Tuesday) Dr Rita Roussos £2,545
(inc. flights)
£500 £235 Book Now
29 September 2020 ACRE200929 29 September 2020 (Tuesday) 6 October 2020 (Tuesday) Dr Christina Hatzimichael-Whitley £2,545
(inc. flights)
£500 £235 Book Now
13 October 2020 ACRE201013 13 October 2020 (Tuesday) 20 October 2020 (Tuesday) Dr Sandy MacGillivray £2,495
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£235 Book Now
20 April 2021 ACRE210420 20 April 2021 (Tuesday) 27 April 2021 (Tuesday) Dr Sandy MacGillivray £2,425
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£280 £2,325
save £100
Book Now
11 May 2021 ACRE210511 11 May 2021 (Tuesday) 18 May 2021 (Tuesday) Dr Rita Roussos £2,475
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£280 £2,375
save £100
Book Now
21 September 2021 ACRE210921 21 September 2021 (Tuesday) 28 September 2021 (Tuesday) Dr Sandy MacGillivray £2,525
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£285 £2,425
save £100
Book Now
12 October 2021 ACRE211012 12 October 2021 (Tuesday) 19 October 2021 (Tuesday) Dr Rita Roussos £2,495
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£285 £2,395
save £100
Book Now
Tour Enquiries

I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the Andante Travels Privacy Policy

Newsletter