8 days

From £2,095 £2,145

Activity Level:

Summary

Nowhere in the world could give a deeper insight into Roman life than the dramatic seaside towns of Pompeii and Herculaneum. Before the eruption of Vesuvius these were thriving, lively seaside towns - Pompeii, a trading town equipped with many bars, shops and brothels, while Herculaneum was an affluent elegant town.

All this came to an abrupt halt, however, one Autumnal day in AD 79 - when Vesuvius - which had done little more than rumble for years - erupted with cataclysmic force. Two thousand years later, the sites of the Bay of Naples confront the modern visitor with a vivid, haunting immediacy like nothing else in the ancient world. In some cases we even know the names, professions and personal histories of the people who owned the villas and shops we visit.

Your guide lecturer will bring to life the ordinary people of Pompeii, Herculaneum and beyond. This is an exciting time for visitors to these Vesuvian towns, as new discoveries are constantly being made, and new houses constantly opened up. Lose yourself in the past, walking the ancient streets in the footsteps of gladiators, slaves, senators and citizens.

Tour highlights:

  • Private access to the Theatre of Herculaneum, off site and haunting
  • Private access to the Cave of Sejanus/Grotta of Seiano and the adjoining villa of Pausilypon with its dramatic coastal views
  • Visit off the beaten track villas at Stabiae
  • Explore newly opened houses in Pompeii
  • Private access to the store rooms at Paestum, where we see Lucanian painted tombs normally closed to the public
Meet your Experts

Dr Simon Elliott

Guide Lecturer

Dr Simon Elliott is a best-selling author and has written books on a wide variety of classical history subjects, ranging from Septimius Severus in Scotland and Roman Legionaries to how the Roman military built an empire.

View full bio

Pompeii ruins
Tour dates & prices

Included in your cost:

  • Expert Guide Lecturer
  • Professional Tour Manager
  • Local travel aboard a private air-conditioned coach
  • Accommodation
  • Meals as per the itinerary, wine and tea or coffee with dinner
  • Entries to all sites as per the itinerary
  • All taxes & gratuities
  • Field notes
Tour Departure Tour ID Departure date Return Date Guided by Price Deposit Single Supp. Offer Availability
7 September 2020 APOM200907 7 September 2020 (Monday) 14 September 2020 (Monday) John Shepherd Debbie Paton £2,195
(inc. flights)
£500 £175 Book Now
14 September 2020 APOM200914 14 September 2020 (Monday) 21 September 2020 (Monday) Dr Jamie Sewell Sirah Bogani £2,195
(inc. flights)
£500 £175 Book Now
28 September 2020 APOM200928 28 September 2020 (Monday) 5 October 2020 (Monday) Dr Gillian Shepherd Anne Chowne £2,195
(inc. flights)
£500 £175 Book Now
5 October 2020 APOM201005 5 October 2020 (Monday) 12 October 2020 (Monday) Tony Wilmott Lois Ferguson £2,095
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£175 Book Now
12 October 2020 APOM201012 12 October 2020 (Monday) 19 October 2020 (Monday) Tony Wilmott £2,095
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£175 Book Now
19 October 2020 APOM201019 19 October 2020 (Monday) 26 October 2020 (Monday) Dr Simon Elliott £2,095
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£175 Book Now
9 November 2020 APOM201109 9 November 2020 (Monday) 16 November 2020 (Monday) Mark Corney Anna Vigetti £1,995
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£175 Book Now
14 December 2020 APOM201214 14 December 2020 (Monday) 21 December 2020 (Monday) Tony Wilmott Agnes Gatineau £2,095
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£175 Book Now
15 March 2021 APOM210315 15 March 2021 (Monday) 22 March 2021 (Monday) Ben Kane £2,045
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£135 £1,995
save £50
Book Now
19 April 2021 APOM210419 19 April 2021 (Monday) 26 April 2021 (Monday) Dr Simon Elliott £2,145
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£135 £2,095
save £50
Book Now
3 May 2021 APOM210503 3 May 2021 (Monday) 10 May 2021 (Monday) Dr Eireann Marshall £2,295
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£135 £2,225
save £70
Book Now
17 May 2021 APOM210517 17 May 2021 (Monday) 24 May 2021 (Monday) Tony O’Connor £2,295
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£135 £2,225
save £70
Book Now
6 September 2021 APOM210506 6 September 2021 (Monday) 13 September 2021 (Monday) Dr David Rudling £2,345
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£135 £2,275
save £70
Book Now
20 September 2021 APOM210920 20 September 2021 (Monday) 27 September 2021 (Monday) John Shepherd £2,345
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£135 £2,275
save £70
Book Now
4 October 2021 APOM211004 4 October 2021 (Monday) 11 October 2021 (Monday) Mark Corney £2,345
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£135 £2,275
save £70
Book Now
11 October 2021 APOM211011 11 October 2021 (Monday) 18 October 2021 (Monday) Tony Wilmott £2,345
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£135 £2,275
save £70
Book Now
25 October 2021 APOM211025 25 October 2021 (Monday) 1 November 2021 (Monday) Dr Eireann Marshall £2,345
(inc. flights)
£99
£500
£135 £2,275
save £70
Book Now
Tour Enquiries

I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the Andante Travels Privacy Policy

Newsletter